LSS banner From left: Beth Brook-Marciniak, Maria Crow, Carolyn Woo and moderator Gerry Dick have a "Conversation on Leadership" at the 2017 Krannert Leadership Speakers Series. For a playlist featuring all of the event's honorees, click on the image above. For individual videos, click on the text links below.

Best in Business

Purdue alumnae honored at Krannert Leadership Speakers Series

A panel of pioneering Purdue alumnae and businesswomen keynoted Krannert School of Management’s 17th annual Leadership Speakers Series on Sept. 28 at the Indiana Roof Ballroom in Indianapolis.

Beth Brooke-Marciniak, vice chair of public policy at Ernst and Young, Maria Crowe, president of Manufacturing Operations at Eli Lilly and Co., and Carolyn Woo, retired president and CEO of Catholic Relief Services, engaged in “A Conversation on Leadership” moderated by Gerry Dick, president and managing editor of Grow INdiana Media Ventures and host of “Inside Indiana Business with Gerry Dick.”

In addition to serving as a panelist, Brooke-Marciniak received the Krannert Business Leadership Award. The event also recognized numerous alumni from both the School of Management and other academic units at Purdue.

Rich Freeland (BSIM ’79), president and COO at Cummins, received Krannert’s Distinguished Alumni Award, and Bob Burlas (BSIM ’86), regional vice president and general manager of Pomeroy IT Solutions, was honored with the school’s Distinguished Service Award.

The John S. Day Distinguished Alumni Academic Service Award was presented to Claude Perkins (MAT ’68), president emeritus of Virginia Union University. Julie Wainwright (BSIM ’79), founder and CEO of TheRealReal, received the Burton D. Morgan Entrepreneurship Award, and Gordana Radmilovic (BSM ’08), senior manager at West Monroe Partners, was recognized with Krannert’s Young Alumni Award.

Along with the Krannert awards, the Boiler Business Exchange of Indianapolis (BBE) inducted its second class into its Business Hall of Fame, including Sonny Beck, CEO of Beck’s Superior Hybrids; Bill Bindley, chairman of Bindley Capital Partners; Maria Crowe, president of Manufacturing Operations at Eli Lilly & Co.; Tim McGinley, founder of House Investments; and Brian Reichart, president of Red Gold. The BBE also surprised Carolyn Woo with the Father Phil Bowers Award.

The event was made possible by sponsors Karl Krapek (MSIA ’72, HDR ’98) and Kathy Krapek, the Boiler Business Exchange of Indianapolis, Accenture, Cummins, Eli Lilly, the Gadomski Foundation, Grow INdiana Media Ventures, Lafayette Printing, Republic Airways and West Monroe Partners.

To view a photo gallery of this year's honorees, visit