Skip to Content

Teachers Honored With Olin W. Davis Awards

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Three teachers who have been active with the Purdue Center for Economic Education's programming, and who currently serve on the Center's teacher advisory committee, have been recognized for their excellence in teaching and promoting the teaching of economics.  Receiving the 2016 Olin W. Davis Teaching Award is Christy Harshbarger, a multi-grade high-ability teacher at Mayflower Mill Elementary School in Lafayette.  She received a plaque and a check for $1,000 at the Indiana Council for Economic Education's Annual Program on June 28, 2016.  The Council presented a plaque and a check for $500 in the runner-up category to Kathryn Dodds, a fourth-grade teacher at Happy Hollow Elementary School in West Lafayette, and to Tracy Franklin, an economics teacher at Jefferson High School in Lafayette.  We congratulate these deserving teachers on this outstanding achievement!